What are the capitals of Latin American countries?


  • Argentina: Buenos Aires.
  • Bolivia: Sucren1
  • Brazil: Brasilia.
  • Chile: Santiago de Chile.
  • Colombia: Bogotá
  • Costa Rica: San José
  • Cuba: Havana.
  • Ecuador: Quito.

What are the capitals in Latin America?

(Mexico City, Guatemala City, Lima, Tegucigalpa, San Salvador, Managua, San Jose, Panama City, Buenos Aires, Asunción, La Paz, Santiago, Caracas, Santo Domingo, Havana, Quito, Brasilia, Montevideo, Bogota, San Juan).

What are the 21 Latin countries?

It includes 21 countries or territories: Mexico in North America; Guatemala, Honduras, El Salvador, Nicaragua, Costa Rica and Panama in Central America; Colombia, Venezuela, Ecuador, Peru, Bolivia, Brazil, Paraguay, Chile, Argentina and Uruguay in South America; and Cuba, Haiti, the Dominican Republic and Puerto Rico

What is the capital of Latin?

Subregions and countries

Country/Territory Capital(s) Subregion
Argentina Buenos Aires South America
Bolivia Sucre and La Paz South America
Brazil Brasília South America
Chile Santiago South America

What are the 12 countries in South America Capitals?

South America is made up of 12 independent countries: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Guyana, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Uruguay, and Venezuela.

Venezuela – Caracas.

Country Capital
Bolivia Sucre
Brazil Brasília
Chile Santiago
Colombia Bogotá

What is the oldest capital in Latin America?

The oldest of all South American capitals, Quito is notable for its well-preserved old town, which was designated a UNESCO World Heritage site in 1978. The area was a market centre and political frontier before its conquest by the Inca empire, which led to its fortification as an Inca settlement.

What are the 5 largest countries in Latin America?

Largest countries in South America, by total area (in square kilometers)

Characteristic Area in square kilometers
Brazil 8,515,770
Argentina 2,780,400
Peru 1,285,216
Colombia 1,138,910

What is the most powerful Latin country?

Brazil and Mexico were the countries with the largest gross domestic product (GDP) in Latin America and the Caribbean in 2021. In that year, Brazil’s GDP reached an estimated value of 1.6 trillion U.S. dollars, whereas Mexico’s amounted to almost 1.3 trillion U.S. dollars.

Does Latin America have 33 countries?

There are 33 countries in Latin America and the Caribbean today, according to the United Nations. The full list is shown in the table below, with current population and subregion (based on the United Nations official statistics).

What is the largest Latin country?


Based on land area, Brazil is the largest country in Latin America by far, with a total area of over 8.5 million square kilometers. Argentina follows with almost 2.8 million square kilometers.

What is the largest capital city in Latin America?

Mexico City, Mexico

The capital of Mexico, whose surface area is 1,495 square kilometers, is the most populous metropolitan area in all of Latin America.

Why South America is called Latin America?

Back in the 1500s, Spanish and Portuguese made most of Central and South America as their colonies, and it remained so until 1800 CE. Spanish and Portuguese languages became prominent in this region. These languages were derived from Latin, so this regions is called as ‘Latin America’.

Is Mexico a Latin country?

Latin America is generally understood to consist of the entire continent of South America in addition to Mexico, Central America, and the islands of the Caribbean whose inhabitants speak a Romance language.

What are the 21 Spanish capitals?

Spanish Vocabulary

Country Capital
Europe Spain Madrid
North America Mexico Ciudad de México
Central America Costa Rica San José
El Salvador San Salvador

What are the 8 countries in Latin America?

North and Central America

  • Belize.
  • Costa Rica.
  • El Salvador.
  • Guatemala.
  • Honduras.
  • Mexico.
  • Nicaragua.
  • Panama.

What are 5 Latin American countries?

Latin America

  • Belize.
  • Costa Rica.
  • Cuba.
  • Dominican Republic.
  • El Salvador.
  • Guatemala.
  • Haiti.
  • Honduras.

What is the most popular capital in Latin America?

Mexico City, Mexico

The capital of Mexico, whose surface area is 1,495 square kilometers, is the most populous metropolitan area in all of Latin America. The population is close to 23 million people who live in 300 different neighborhoods throughout 16 municipalities.

Which 5 Latin American country is the richest?

Here are the 10 richest countries in South America:

  • Brazil – $35.21 Bn.
  • Argentina – $33.98 Bn.
  • Venezuela – $13.83 Bn.
  • Colombia – $10.19 Bn.
  • Chile – $9.68 Bn.
  • Peru – $5.83 Bn.
  • Ecuador – $2.86 Bn.
  • Uruguay – $2.54 Bn.

What is the nicest country in Latin America?

Best countries to visit in South America

  1. Ecuador. Ecuador may be small, but it’s one of the best countries to travel to in South America.
  2. Colombia. Colombia is a popular country for South American tourism, particularly for its biodiversity.
  3. Peru.
  4. Brazil.
  5. Argentina.
  6. Guyana.
  7. Chile.
  8. Bolivia.